Skip to content
General

WhatsApp’s next update finally adds top-requested feature

By Rajiv Menon
1 min read
WhatsApp
WhatsApp

WhatsApp plans to roll out new security and privacy features to users on all platforms, the social network announced today. This is a more comprehensive update that brings several improvements, including one of the most-requested privacy features, the ability to choose who can see when you’re online.

Besides that, the update introduces a new option that allows WhatsApp users to leave groups silently. Instead of notifying the full group when a user leaves, only the admins will receive a notification. According to WhatsApp, this specific feature will roll out to all users sometime this month.

Another important security feature that’s supposed to go live later is the ability to block screenshots for View Once messages. One of the most popular WhatsApp features, View Once brings users a new, safe way to share photos or media that they don’t want to be permanently recorded.

The update enables screenshot blocking for View Once messages, but WhatsApp is only testing this feature at the moment, so it’s not going to be available to everyone for a while.

Finally, the ability to choose who can see when you’re online will be rolled out to all users this month, WhatsApp confirmed. More details about how you’ll be able to use the upcoming feature are provided via the image above.

Weekly Briefing

Asia's retail intelligence, in your inbox

Monday, Wednesday and a Friday Weekly Wrap: the retail stories, numbers and moves that mattered across Asia. Nothing else, and you can unsubscribe in one click.

  • Top industry moves and market shifts
  • Weekly data-driven analysis from across Asia
  • Monday, Wednesday and the Friday Weekly Wrap

Read by retail operators, investors and brand teams across Asia.

Protected by a quick human check. No spam, ever. Unsubscribe in one click.

SecureGDPR ready