WhatsApp removes online requirement for use on multiple devices

In this article (5)
WhatsApp is finally introducing an important feature that’s been promised since July, the option to remove the online requirement for use on multiplayer devices. As some of you may already know, if you want to use WhatsApp on a desktop, you must have your smartphone connected to the internet to have your conversations synced.
The new feature that’s been in beta testing for several months allows WhatsApp users to disable the requirement and have WhatsApp run on any linked device without your smartphone being connected to the internet.
For the time being, there’s a limit of four devices that can be connected to WhatsApp at the same time. Those who received the update should find the new feature under the “Linked devices” tab. Once enabled, WhatsApp will remove all previously connected devices, so you’ll have to add them again following the app’s instructions.
After adding all devices that you’d like to use with WhatsApp, you won’t be needing your smartphone to be connected to the internet to sync the conversation or have access to the app. Keep in mind that the feature will not work on tablets and that there are some limitations on iPhones, such as the fact that you can’t clean or delete conversations on connected devices if your main device is an iPhone.
Last but not least, for security reasons, if you don’t open WhatsApp on your phones for 14 days, the app will automatically disconnect all other devices and you will have to add them again.
Questions & Answers
Q.How many linked devices can use WhatsApp simultaneously with this new feature?
How many linked devices can use WhatsApp simultaneously with this new feature?
There is a current limit of four devices that can be connected to WhatsApp at the same time using the new feature.
Q.Will previously connected devices automatically work after enabling this update?
Will previously connected devices automatically work after enabling this update?
No, once the feature is enabled, WhatsApp will remove all previously connected devices, requiring users to add them again.
Q.Are there any specific limitations for iPhone users with this new feature?
Are there any specific limitations for iPhone users with this new feature?
Yes, iPhone users cannot clean or delete conversations on connected devices if their main device is an iPhone.
Q.What happens if a user doesn't open WhatsApp on their phone for an extended period?
What happens if a user doesn't open WhatsApp on their phone for an extended period?
For security reasons, if WhatsApp is not opened on the phone for 14 days, all other connected devices will automatically disconnect.
Reader pulse
How will this impact retail operations?
18,167 votes so far