Skip to content
General

YouTube introduces a new feature to battle abusive comments

By Minjun Park
3 min read
Youtube TV
Youtube TV
In this article (5)

While browsing YouTube’s comment section, you might find some offensive comments. And to battle spammers and users using abusive language, the platform has improved its spam detection and bot detection in live chats and added a new feature

In a new blog post, YouTube announced that its new feature notifies users when the platform has detected and removed some of their comments for violating its Community Guidelines. Furthermore, if a user doesn’t stop their offensive behavior, they may receive a “timeout,” which makes them unable to post comments for up to 24 hours. YouTube shared that its tests have shown that these warnings and temporal restrictions reduce the possibility of users writing abusive comments again.

At the moment, the notification is only available for comments written in English, but YouTube hopes to expand it to more languages in the coming months. As the platform stated, its goal is to protect creators from users with ill intent and to offer more transparency to people whose comments have been removed for violating the platform’s Community Guidelines. Of course, since algorithms could also make a mistake, YouTube’s team encourages users who receive such warnings to give feedback. This will help it further improve its systems.

Meanwhile, it looks like YouTube is working on another new feature, but this time with the intent to make the watching experience more pleasant. The platform is currently testing an Add to queue function for its Android and iOS apps.

If you watch YouTube on your computer, you are probably familiar with the Add to queue option. This enables you to create a temporary playlist (known as a queue) that will play the added videos one after another. This is great if you are browsing YouTube and find something you want to watch after you finish the video you are watching right now.

At the moment, the notification is only available for comments written in English, but YouTube hopes to expand it to more languages in the coming months.

On Android and iOS, we don’t have this option. We only have “Save to Watch Later” and “Save to Playlist.” Both create queues, yes, but save them as permanent playlists in our libraries.

When YouTube launches the Add to queue feature on Android and iOS, you will be able to add a video to your queue by just tapping the clip’s three-dot menu and selecting “Play last in queue.” After you choose the option, the app will create a watchlist at the bottom. In the newly created panel, you will be able to rearrange the viewing order by dragging the videos, and by swiping left, you will be able to remove them from the temporary playlist. You will also have the ability to repeat and shuffle playback.

We must note, however, that at the moment, only Premium users have access to the test of the Add to queue option. Furthermore, it appears that YouTube advertises this function as a “Premium feature,” implying that it will most likely be available only to Premium users once the platform launches it.

If you are a YouTube Premium subscriber and want to test the Add to queue option yourself, you can do that until January 28th. To sign up for the test, tap your profile button in the top-right corner, press Settings, and tap on Try new features. After that, you just need to wait for the app to load the new function.

Questions & Answers

Q.

What happens if a user repeatedly posts abusive comments after receiving a warning?

A.

Users who do not stop their offensive behaviour may receive a 'timeout'. This makes them unable to post comments for up to 24 hours.

Q.

In which languages is the new comment notification feature currently available?

A.

At the moment, the notification feature is only available for comments written in English. YouTube hopes to expand it to more languages in the coming months.

Q.

Which users currently have access to test the 'Add to queue' feature on mobile?

A.

Currently, only Premium users have access to test the 'Add to queue' option. This suggests it may become a Premium-exclusive feature.

Q.

How long do Premium users have to sign up and test the new 'Add to queue' feature?

A.

Premium users can sign up to test the 'Add to queue' feature until January 28th. They can do this via their profile settings in the app.

Reader pulse

Will stronger moderation boost retail brand confidence on YouTube?

21,781 votes so far

Weekly Briefing

Asia's retail intelligence, in your inbox

Monday, Wednesday and a Friday Weekly Wrap: the retail stories, numbers and moves that mattered across Asia. Nothing else, and you can unsubscribe in one click.

  • Top industry moves and market shifts
  • Weekly data-driven analysis from across Asia
  • Monday, Wednesday and the Friday Weekly Wrap

Read by retail operators, investors and brand teams across Asia.

Protected by a quick human check. No spam, ever. Unsubscribe in one click.

SecureGDPR ready