Skip to content
General

Google now allows users to auto-delete user data

By Minjun Park
1 min read
Google Search
Google Search

Google is making it possible for Android and iOS users to auto-delete location history and activity data starting today. Although the search giant already provided the ability to turn on or off the Location History and Web & App Activity directly from the Google Account, including the option to manually delete the data recorded, there was one feature that makes it so much easier to get rid of this data.

Starting today, a new set of auto-delete controls are available in the Google app, which will allow users to manage their data easier than before. Simply choose a time limit for how long you want your activity data to be saved, and any data that’s older than that will be automatically deleted from your account.

Google mentions that you’ll be able to set a time limit for how long your activity data to be saved from anywhere between 3 and 18 months, so there’s that.

According to Google, users should start seeing the new auto-delete controls soon, and that they will come first to Location History and Web & App Activity. A broader rollout should happen in the coming weeks, so if you don’t see the new feature right away, you’ll have to wait.

Reader pulse

How will this impact retail ad targeting?

18,393 votes so far

Weekly Briefing

Asia's retail intelligence, in your inbox

Tuesday, Thursday and a Saturday Weekly Wrap: the retail stories, numbers and moves that mattered across Asia. Nothing else, and you can unsubscribe in one click.

  • Top industry moves and market shifts
  • Weekly data-driven analysis from across Asia
  • Tuesday, Thursday and the Saturday Weekly Wrap

Read by retail operators, investors and brand teams across Asia.

Protected by a quick human check. No spam, ever. Unsubscribe in one click.

SecureGDPR ready